Board of Directors



CEF is led by an exceptional group of committed community leaders. 100% of Carlsbad Educational Foundation board members contribute financially to the organization.
Board Chair

J. Scott Runner

Vice President of Internet of Things & Automotive

Vice Chair

Debbie Meyer

Ocean Outreach and Education


Bart Blechschmidt



Rebecca Moore

Commercial Banking Officer, Silvergate Bank

J.R. Phillips

Broker, The JF Phillips Real Estate Group

Kristina Ray

Communications Manager, City of Carlsbad

Gary Kawano

Guild Mortgage

Lisa Behune

Vice President, Private Client Manager U.S. Trust

Beth Schroder

Director of Major Gifts, California State University at San Marcos

Gary Morrison

Retired Carlsbad Police Chief

Debra Swiatlowski

Vice President Human Resources, Thermo Fisher

Jane Hartman

Retired Carlsbad Unified School District Principal

Rosie Marks

Community Volunteer, City of Carlsbad

Mark Robinson

Program Manager, ViaSat

Jay Marquand

Director of Alternative Education, Sweetwater Union School District

Michael Zepeda

Financial Planner, Zepeda Financial Partners

Alan Lewis

Senior Engineering Manager, Nordson Asymtek